News


GIRL ON THE RUN is chosen by the Canadian Children's Book Centre as BEST BOOKS for TEENS for 2016!




"Fast paced with lots of twists readers will love, Girl on the Run," CM Magazine, 4/4 stars, highly recommended. Read the rest of the review here.

"Myers livens up the beach read genre with a spirited main character and a humourous story about finding your place again after getting off course. Romance is a vital element of the summer camp narrative and Myers delivers with considerable wit...Jesse’s romantic exploits range from cringe-worthy to steamy. And through it all, Jesse remains her authentic self, proving that while being with someone is wonderful, she is not someone who needs a relationship to complete her." Amy Mathers, Children's Book Reviews, The National Reading Campaign
Read the rest of the review here.


Praise for ASP OF ASCENSION

"Asp of Ascension is a really gripping tale that will keep readers on the edge of their chairs right to the end." CM Magazine, highly recommended, 4/4 stars Read the rest of the review here.


"Perfect for fans of Nancy Drew, The Mummy and Egyptian mythology. I can't wait to read the next Nefertari Hughes mystery!" Book Briefs. Read the rest of the review here



Praise for BUTTERFLIES DON'T LIE


"This is a blithe and breezy tale of summer and self-discovery. Despite her initial self-absorption, Kelsey emerges as a relatable protagonist who grapples with fears and insecurities that are both typical and uniquely her own." Atlantic Books Today, Lisa Doucet co-manager of Woozles Children’s Bookstore in Halifax


"While Butterflies Don't Lie may not be an emotionally shattering love story, it's as a first love, a summer love should be: light-hearted, playful, absurd, tenuous, and promising.  And B. R. Myers
gets it all right." CanLit for Little Canadians, Helen Kubiw, teacher-librarian, review, promoter of great Canadian reading for young people

"Butterflies Don’t Lieis a cute novel about a teenager’s first love. It is an incredibly endearing story that I would recommend to anyone from the ages thirteen and up, easily relatable to the feelings we have or have had."  Edward's Book Club


Reading ‘Butterflies Don’t Lie’ was magnetic ... Most of all I loved seeing Kelsey lean on and confide in the boy–who wasn’t the one she was spending so much energy chasing, but the one who didn’t make her try.
Read the full review here.



"Myers’ characters, all with very human flaws, are hard not to love from the start. They’ll experience Kelsey’s firsts like they’re their own: first love, first broken heart, first job, first time drinking, and the first time standing up to her parents. Kelsey is easy to relate to, and readers will surely root for her even when her choices are cringe worthy...readers will be left hoping there’s a sequel to come." CM Magazine, highly recommended, 4/4 stars

Read the full review here.


No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...