YA Novels

  The Nefertari Hughes Mystery Series

ASP OF ASCENSION

Sometimes the dead don't stay buried...


"Perfect for fans of Nancy Drew, The Mummy, and Egyptian mythology. I can't wait to read the next Nefertari Hughes mystery!" Book Briefs




Nefertari "Terry" Hughes has three rules for surviving high school: 1. Don't attract attention.2. Don't get involved.3. Don't make trouble.

A year after the accident that left her disabled and took her mother's life, sixteen-year-old Terry just wants to keep her head down and survive her new high school. When she catches the eye of cute basketball star Zach, all hopes of flying under the radar are gone. She is thrust even further into the spotlight when Fraser, the editor of the school newspaper, learns that her father is the renowned archaeologist overseeing the new Egyptian display at the museum, which is rumoured to include Cleopatra's sarcophagus.

When Fraser stumbles upon the fifty-year-old mystery of a girl who vanished in the museum and Terry's father falls into a mysterious coma, Terry is caught up in a whirlwind of events that leads all the way back to ancient times.

Amazon
iTunes
Kobo
Chapters/Indigo

Add it on Goodreads here.
Check out the Pinterest board here.






DIADEM OF DEATH
(Nefertari Huges Mystery #2)

What would you do for immortality?

"Nefertari Hughes jumps back into the fray in Diadem of Death, a little older, a little wiser, and in possession of some kick-ass ancient powers!" Angela Misri, author of the 'Portia Adams' mystery series.




Nefertari “Terry” Hughes is looking forward to spending the school break with her boyfriend, but when her archaeologist father announces he’s working on a project that will take him to Egypt, all hopes of having a romantic summer are buried.

With her friend Maude's company for consolation, Terry accompanies her father as they join his colleagues in Alexandria, where she’s reunited with her first crush, Awad—all grown up and an expert in translating hieroglyphics. He confides that the team is in a race to find Cleopatra’s lost tomb before a secret band of rebels steals Egypt’s last Pharaoh and her diadem, a golden crown believed to possess powers of immortality.

But sabotage and a deadly accident put everyone on high alert, and Terry isn’t sure whom to trust. As the line between ally and enemy begins to blur, Terry has to keep her wits about her and figure out who wants the diadem badly enough to kill—because one wrong stop could mean the difference between discovering a tomb and being buried in one.

Amazon
iTunes
Kobo
Chapters/Indigo

Add on Goodreads here.
Check out the Pinterest board here.






                NIGHT SHIFT (Night Shift series #1)


       In the heart of Manhattan, a historic building hides a century old secret.

"...a book that is a remarkably well written, cleverly well crafted, engagingly romantic, and eerily suspenseful." Amazon Top Reviewer




At Willard's department store, none of the night security guards survive for long, and eighteen-year-old Daniel Gale is about to discover why.

Tired of endless hotels and living out of his backpack, he ignores the clerk's gossip about the old building being haunted and takes the job as the newest night guard. On his first shift, Daniel narrowly escapes a fatal drop down the elevator shaft, and is rescued by Mary, a bossy and intriguing girl who is far too beautiful for after hours inventory.

Anticipating every night shift as a chance to be with her, Daniel thinks his traveling days are over hoping that New York City is the place to call home. But as his life becomes more entwined with Willard's, Daniel senses unnatural changes and bizarre coincidences, both with Mary and the store itself. Soon he suspects Willard's is hiding something more sinister than gossip about ghosts—something that could make him the next casualty of the NIGHT SHIFT.






Amazon Canada
Amazon US
Kobo
iTunes
BarnesandNoble

Check out NIGHT SHIFT's inspiration board on Pinterest here

Add it on Goodreads here.



BLACK FRIDAY (Night Shift series #2)


Where there's smoke, there's fire.




It's been a month since nineteen-year-old Daniel Gale survived the brutal attack that almost cost him everything that he loved. As the culprit waits behind bars for a court date, Daniel and Mary spend every night shift researching Willard's history as a vaudeville theater and its main act, a ruined magician. They are searching for answers that will unlock the mystery of Mary's existence so she can finally escape the luxurious department store.

But an untimely death of an ally results in a shocking letter of confession from beyond the grave, making both Daniel and Mary question everything they thought was true. Under the watchful eye of a strict new night supervisor, Daniel desperately enlists assistance from a dubious source, unwilling to give up on saving Mary. However, his hope is soon shattered when new clues reveal the disturbing truth of Mary’s past—a truth that may destroy them both.


Amazon US
Amazon Canada
Chapters/Indigo
BarnesandNoble
iTunes

Read the first few chapters here on Wattpad for FREE!

Check out the Pinterest inspiration board here for with character pics and soundtrack choices.

Add it on Goodreads here.






    GIRL ON THE RUN


 A good pair of legs can take a girl far...but she'll never outrun the truth.

Chosen by the Canadian Book Centre for Children as BEST BOOKS for Teens 2016




"Fast paced with lots of twists, readers will love GIRL ON THE RUN." CM Magazine




When seventeen-year-old track and field star Jesse Collins’s dreams of a full scholarship are shattered after the sudden death of her dad, she leaves home to work as a summer camp counselor to escape the small town nosy stares...and her own secret guilt.

After a mix-up at registration, she’s put in charge of a boys’ cabin, and the head counselor, Kirk, predicts she won’t last the first two weeks. In the midst of fending off four twelve-year-old boys who are hell-bent on mortifying her and a growing attraction to Kirk, Jesse finds the inspiration to run again from an unlikely source. But getting her old life back isn't that easy, and Jesse will soon realize that a good pair of legs can take a girl far, but she can never outrun the truth.





Check out the inspiration board on Pinterest here.

Add it on Goodreads here.

Amazon (Canada)
Amazon (US)
Chapters/Indigo
Nimbus 





                    BUTTERFLIES DON'T LIE

     Sometimes the best matches are the ones you least expect.

"While Butterflies Don't Lie may not be an emotionally shattering love story, it's as a first love, a summer love should be: light-hearted, playful, absurd, tenuous, and promising.  And B. R. Myers gets it all right." CanLit for LittleCanadians





Sixteen year old, magazine quiz junkie, Kelsey Sinclair wants to make this summer unforgettable by (hopefully) seducing her secret crush, Blaine Mulder. Armed with romance advice articles, Kelsey tackles true love with scientific precision, including getting a job at the seaside restaurant that overlooks the yacht club where Blaine teaches sailing.

However, visions of rendezvous on the beach are clouded when the new kitchen guy's laid back attitude and smouldering stare quickly get under her skin. With his renegade demeanour and unpredictable stunts, Luke is the opposite to Blaine's golden boy reputation.

Determined to follow through with her original goal, Kelsey ignores her growing attraction to Luke, certain he's not the guy for her. But when she finally manages to get Blaine's attention, Kelsey worries the magazines are all wrong, and that sometimes the best matches are the ones you least expect.



Now available to purchase from:

BarnesandNoble
Chapters/Indigo
Amazon Canada
Amazon US

Originally featured on Wattpad, it received over 2.5 million reads in three months! You can read the first three chapters for free right now. Click here.

Read an exclusive excerpt here.

For character pictures, quotes, a playlist and various other inspirational bits, check out the inspiration board on Pinterest here.

                                    



3 comments:

Anonymous said...

I have recently read this on Wattpad. To be honest, this book was completely AMAZING. The minute I began to read I seriously could not stop. I found myself thinking about it days after I've finished reading. I really hope that you'd be inspired to create a sequel to Busgirl Blues :)

bookworm91 said...

I read your book on wattpad (asianchick91) and have commented, voted and followed you, you're a fantastic writer and an inspiration :D !

AbbyCraig said...

I too read Busgirl Blues on Watt Pad and enjoyed it. I'm happy to see that it was picked up for publication! What a great accomplishment!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...